Congratulations to our National Merit Finalists!

National Merit Logo

Congratulations to the following students, who have been named National Merit Finalists:

  • Olivia Watson, Scott High School
  • Tyler Schowalter, Dixie Heights High School
  • Sarah Welp, Simon Kenton High School

Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and a high school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.

From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, only about 15,000 advance to the Finalist level. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists. 


Olivia WatsonOlivia Watson


Tyler Schowalter Tyler Schowalter


Sarah Welp Sarah Welp

Back to School News       Print