Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Kenton County School District leads area with 11 newly certified teachers

Fifty-two teachers in Greater Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky reached the pinnacle of professional qualification: certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.   In the class of 2009, the Kenton County School District led the area with 11 newly certified teachers.
Certification, good for 10 years, entitles teachers to a salary boost, leadership roles and, in some cases, job security. The standards are rigorous and uniform, and require a long commitment of personal time for teachers. The application process takes up to three years of work developing a detailed portfolio, analyzing video of themselves teaching, and six exams.
Only 40 percent of teachers who try, meet the standards on their first try. Nationwide, about 82,000 teachers are certified through the program.
Thanks to Ryland NBC teacher, Paula House, for her continued assistance and support of this program.  The following teachers are the most recent Kenton County educators to earn National Board Certification:
Vickie Brothers                                Beechgrove Elementary
Jennifer Egan                                   River Ridge Elementary
Angela Ellison                                  Beechgrove Elementary
Neva Francis                                    River Ridge Elementary
Marti Freihofer                                  Scott High School
Mindy Fry                                        Summit View Elementary
Katherine Graham                             Caywood Elementary
Kathryn Hart                                     River Ridge Elementary
Christina Pangallo                             Caywood Elementary
Stephanie Steinbrunner                      Hinsdale Elementary
Cary Wolking                                    Taylor Mill Elementary

William Croyle contributed to this article

Back to School News      Print News Article